2018 British Composer Award Winners

Congratulations to this year’s British Composer Award winners, who were announced in a ceremony at the British Museum last night. There were twelve categories, with the winners as follows:

Amateur or Young Performers

Microscopic Dances by Oliver Searle

Chamber Ensemble

Libro di fiammelle e ombre by James Weeks


In the Land of Uz by Judith Weir

Community or Educational Project

The Umbrella by Liam Taylor-West

Jazz Composition for Large Ensemble

Afronaut by Cassie Kinoshi

Jazz Composition for Small Ensemble

Close to Ecstasy by Simon Lasky


Deep Time by Harrison Birtwistle

Small Chamber

Unbreathed by Rebecca Saunders

Solo or Duo

The Harmonic Canon by Dominic Murcott

Sonic Art

Halfway to Heaven by Emily Peasgood

Stage Works

Shorelines by Oliver Coates

Wind Band or Brass Band

The Turing Test by Simon Dobson

In addition there were two special categories presented to those who have made a special contribution to new music:

British Composer Award for Innovation

Trevor Wishart

British Composer Award for Inspiration in association with the Music Publishers Association

Sally Beamish

More information available here.

Originally posted at Composition:Today ©Red Balloon Technology